Get in, get happy

Image

What would the Super Bowl be without its infamous commercials? If you are not a guy, chances are the commercials and Beyoncé’s performance were the highlights of the game for you. I can’t say that I saw every commercial because of working interfering… again. Out of all of the ones I saw, I do have a favorite.

I liked the Volkswagon Beetle commercial the best. I liked it so much because it was simple and straight to the point. It didn’t have a lot of nonsense in it like other commercials did. There was one message – Be happy. While critics were tweeting and posting blogs saying that it was racist, I didn’t think so at all. The two main points that the commercial is being accused of being racist is because the main guy with the Volkswagon is from Minnesota, but is clearly speaking with a Jamaican accent. There was also reggae music playing in the background. I think that he was speaking with a Jamaican accent with reggae music playing was to portray that he was living the happy worry free life that Jamaicans are known for. That’s not racist to me or something to be offended by in my eyes. I would take it as a compliment if someone came up to me and said “wow you really live a worry free life style.” That is what life is all about, doing what you love and being happy while doing it. Obviously owning a Volksagon Beetle isn’t going to do this for you, but what I think the company is trying to get across is that it can help you along the journey. People are looking too closely into things and trying to find something to criticize about a great commercial. Some people just need to don’t worry, and be HAPPY! 🙂

“The road may be rocky, but it sure feels good to me.” -Bob Marley

Photo Credit: Bazzerio

One thought on “Get in, get happy

Leave a Reply

